Science leave me alone!
I was busy,
I dared to mention your name.
You care less for me than of HER?!
He raged and stomped,
Threw atoms and algorithms at me,
Reminded me I owed him,
That great debt of wage,
He helped reduce my redundancy, kept me normalised.

Science, I said in softer tones,
I will always hold you close,
But you must see?
My first love has always been for HER,
This thing we have, was only to help me
Find my feet, heart, brain.

Silence. No protestation. Nothing.
Awkward gloom hung heavy.
I peered into the monitor
Looking for a response,
All I heard was the dim hum of a fan
Spinning inside his case.

Leave a Reply

